Home » Headstone Brigade, New Releases

Headstone Brigade & Crooked Mouth – Crooked Headstone Now Available!

20 March 2021 xdementia No Comment

Out today March 19, 2021:
Compact Disc (incl. digital): https://metalodyssey.8merch.com/product/crooked-mouth-headstone-brigade-crooked-headstone-cd/
Digital: https://headstonebrigade.bandcamp.com/album/crooked-headstone

OVERVIEW by Shawn Haché
Two bold voices resounding from deep within the Pacific Northwest darkfolk zeitgeist amalgamate as one on “Crooked Headstone”, the collaborative album between British Columbia’s CROOKED MOUTH and Washington State’s HEADSTONE BRIGADE. For years, each project has toiled alone in a decaying genre, carving singular identities capable of breathing new life through masterful melodies and incredibly dense doses of poignancy.
Bend your ear to a headstrong integration of ethereal guitar driven ballads, forlorn sea shanties, and anthemic neofolk shadowed by ever-changing orchestrated layers. The call to adventure resounds through skilled songwriting, biting tales of restless disillusionment, and voices that adeptly blend as one. Together they shout across the sprawling, rolling gulf and call for a radical optimism desperately lacking in our soulless age.
Listen! Heed that distant call. Take to the seas with an inexorable craving for the unexplored and unclaimed. Scale peaks, explore valleys, and, most importantly, go within. Move ever onward!

1. Knife (3:05)
2. Old Shipwreck (5:37)
3. Compassion (3:11)
4. Cedar Incense (4:41)
5. Loam (4:12)
6. The Sun Sets Behind Us (2:34)
7. Ever Onward (3:54)
8. Nighttime in Sonnenheim (2:23)
9. Within Without (5:32)
10. High Tide (9:50)
Total Time 44:59

Crooked Mouth: Vocals, guitar, percussion, harmonium, cittern, glockenspiel, trombone, bass guitar
Headstone Brigade is Egan Budd: Vocals, accordion, percussion, post-production, mixing, mastering
Kevin Lewis/Nital Etch: Cello
Shawn Haché: Glockenspiel on “Within Without”

Comments are closed.

Join the monthly mailing list

Check your email and confirm the subscription